Race Coverage

2019 POY Finalists...


MINNESOTA MULTISPORT HONORS - Determining the four male and four female PERFORMANCE OF THE YEAR finalists wasn't easy. In fact, it was contentious at times. For those of us who enjoy arguing, it was a lot of fun. And like the contemporary British philosopher Mick Jagger reminds us, "You can't always get what you want." 

In other words, none of the five Committee Members correctly picked all of the nominated performances.

Starting with the women, here are the POY nominations:


- HANNA GRINAKER's course-record-shattering (2:06:57!) victory at Buffalo Olympic. Her margin of victory was 5:59.

- HANNA GRINAKER's 13th amateur / 2nd US @ the Hawaiian Ironman World Championships. Her 9:55:58 is the 2nd fastest IM time ever by a Minnesota amateur woman.

- DANI VSETECKA's victorious 4:23:56 at Ironman Texas 70.3 (photo L), the fasest half IM time by a Minnesota woman in 2019 by more than eight minutes....


hicliffsean.png- CATHY YNDESTAD's course record 2:05:33 at Minneapolis Olympic. It was the 8th (!) Minneapolis victory for CY, whose career victory total is approaching the 80 mark.

Also receiving vociferous support was Becky Youngberg's victory at Maple Grove (2:06:06), Paige Schulz' 3rd place amateur finish at Ironman Mont-Tremblant (10:09:16), Hanna Grinaker's victory at Ironman Canada 70.3 (4:38) and Gaby Bunten's 5th @ USAT Age Group Nationals.



DAN ARLANDSON's 3rd place amateur finish at Ironman Wisconsin. His 9:20:31 was the fastest IM time by a Minnesotan in 2019.

SEAN COOLEY's runaway victory at High Cliff Half Ironman (photo R). His 4:07:34 was the fastest 70.3 clocking by a Minnesotan in 2019, and his margin of victory was 10:30!.

PATRICK PARISH's victory at Standa Distance Duathlon Nationals, Patrick's 8th career (!) national title.

PATRICK PARISH's speedy victory at Minneapolis Olympic, where he outraced likely US AOY nominee Vant Lammers. Patrick's 1:55:05 was the fastest Olympic time by a Minnesota male in 2019.

Also receiving fist-pounding support were Josh Mork's course record victory at Square Lake, and Josh Blankenheim's course-record win at Brewhouse Olympic..



Please update your Flash Player to view content.
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
Please update your Flash Player to view content.